Making peace

ex33-go
https://dwellingintheword.wordpress.com/2015/02/19/1514-exodus-33/

I want to leave

It’s been years, it seems,

Shuffling the dust of this arid ground

 

Dry, hot sands get caught in

My throat

And my hair has been scorched by sun’s fire

 

I am not as pretty as once

For youth has circled my eyes like ravens—

Too many times

 

And, I am tried,

Very ready to sleep

Nestled in the cushion of something comfortable

 

Opportunity’s wheel stands still

The wall’s eye

Waits eternally for day’s dawn

 

In the company of outliers,

The Promised Land

Hums a new song in the distance

 

Although my physical steps

Take longer, this journey

Is well with my soul

 

And my wisdom grows

Like the old oak tree

Discerning new foliage each day

 

Not ready?

Not ready to move, you say?

Okay…

 

Then I’m not ready either

So, for now,

don’t bring me up from here

 

No, not even if I cry out and tell you

I’m tired of walking

Tired of treading

 

Not even if I pray for a moment

That time roll forward

Like the agitations of a hurricane

 

Not if you will not come

Tomorrow land

Is not ready for me

 

Instead I ask not to bring me up from here

Unless you stay by my side

For I will not leave this land without you

 

Leave a Reply

